DIAGNOSIS BY SCINTIGRAPHY AND PET

 

The Centre for Nuclear Medicine and PET Eaubonne is a private clinique on the Eaubonne site of the Simone Weil Hospital. It accepts patients who require an examination by nuclear medicine (scintigraphy) or by PET.

What is a Scintigraphy ?
It is a functional imaging technique which allows for the administration of a limited quantity of radioactive product. This product is either injected alone or as a combination with another molecule allowing for tracking of the biological process. The detection of the gamma rays emitted by the mole can be seen on a Gamma Camera. Bone scintigraphy shows for example the process of sythesis/destruction of the bone and highlights the areas where the metabolism is abnormal/

Principle indications of Scintigraphy
Endocrinology (thyroid) Carcinology, Pneumology, Bone and Cardiology
Cardiac examinations, using effort, are supervised by a caridaologist.

Illustration Presentation n°1

What is the PET ?
The PET is a high performing medical imaging technique that detects certain types of cancer. The PET depends on injecting a radioactive substance (18FDG) into the body before proceeding with the examination by PET Scanner. This radioactive product attaches itself easily to the cancer cells in formation and is producted by a medical cyclotron.

Each year over 7000 patients benefit form this type of technology and diagnostic control by isotope medical professionals.

Security :
The Scintigraphy Centre Paris Nord in Sarcelles meets all the normes of radio-protection required for patient and personnel. The Centre controlled annually by the Nuclear Security Authority who publish the findings of their visit.

 

Illustration Presentation n°2

Equipment :

  • A laboratory for the preparation of treatment
  • A Gamma Camera Siemens - Type Ecam Dual
  • A Gamma Camera hybrid (scintigraphy and scanography) Siemens Symbia T
  • A PET-CT Siemens - type Biography True V
  • A gym room for all cardiac examinations under effort
  • A ventilation room ? a decompression room ?

Patients living in the Sarcelles-Gonnesse area or Saint-Denis can be accepted at the Scintigraphy Centre Paris Nord or at the PET Centre Roger PEREZ in Sarcelles.

Diagnostiquer par la scintigraphie et la TEP

 

Le Centre de Médecine Nucléaire et de TEP d'Eaubonne est un centre privé installé sur le site d'Eaubonne du C.H. Simone VEIL. Il accueille des patients pour lesquels a été prescrit un examen de médecine nucléaire (a.d. scintigraphie) ou de TEP.

Qu'est ce que la scintigraphie ?
C'est une technique d'imagerie fonctionnelle. Elle repose sur l'administration d'une infime quantité de produit radioactif. Ce produit radioactif est soit injecté seul, soit couplé à une molécule qui permettra de suivre un processus biologique donné. La détection des rayonnements gamma émis par la molécule est réalisée grâce à un appareillage particulier : la Gamma-Caméra. La scintigraphie osseuse permet par exemple de visualiser le processus de synthèse/destruction de l'os et de repérer les zones oà le métabolisme est anormal.

Les indications principales de la scintigraphie.
Endocrinologie (thyroïde), Carcinologie, Pneumologie, Os et Cardiologie.
Les examens de cardiologie avec épreuve d'effort sont réalisés en présence d'un cardiologue.

Illustration Presentation n°1

Qu'est ce que la TEP ?
La TEP est la technique d'imagerie médicale la plus performante à ce jour pour la détection de certains types de cancer. La TEP repose sur l'injection d'un produit pharmaceutique radioactif particulier (18 FDG) dans le corps humain avant de procéder à l'examen proprement dit au moyen d'un Scanner TEP. Ce produit radioactif, qui se fixe facilement sur les formations de cellules cancéreuses, est produit par un cyclotron à usage médical.

Chaque année, plus de 7000 patients bénéficient de cette technologie et de l'expertise diagnostique des médecins isotopistes auxquels ils sont adressés.

Sécurité :
Le Centre de Scintigraphie Paris Nord à Sarcelles répond aux normes de radioprotection des patients et des personnels en vigueur. Il est visité annuellement par l'Autorité de Sûreté Nucléaire qui publie sur son site ses rapports de visites et à laquelle est signalé tout évènement indésirable.

 

Illustration Presentation n°2

Equipements :

  • Un laboratoire de préparation des doses ;
  • Une gamma caméra Siemens - Type Ecam Dual ;
  • Une gamma caméra hybride (scintigraphie et scanographie) Siemens Symbia T ;
  • Une TEP-CT Siemens - type Biograph True V ;
  • Une salle d'épreuve d'effort pour les examens cardiologiques ;
  • Une salle de ventilation.

Les patients qui demeurent sur le bassin Sarcelles-Gonnesse ou de Saint-Denis peuvent être accueillis au Centre de Scintigraphie Paris Nord ou au Centre TEP Roger PEREZ à Sarcelles.