TOMOGRAPHY BY EMISSION OF POSITRONS

 

Tomography by emission of positrons allows for the observation of consumption and/or distribution of certain molecules in the organs of the body. To observe this, a nurse injects a specifique solution into the patient. This solution contains a radio pharmacutique. The solution contains a molecule (or a chemical molecule) that allows for observation using a marker which contains a radioactive element and which allows for the emission of positrons.

Following the injection the patient is placed in the line of view of a positron camera which will show the presence of elements and allow for the localisation and quantification of the radio-pharmacutique element.

Thanks to a mathematical programme the information gathered is registered for analysis and transformed into a series of images corresponding to the organ that has been imaged. By viewing all the images rapidly the doctor can build up a 3D image of the organ observer.

 

tep 01 tep 02 tep 03 tep 04
Click on the images to enlarge

 

What equipment is used for a PET
The radiopharmacutique is the principal tool of the PET, more often than not a 18FDG (Fluoro-Deoxy-Glucose). The 18 FDG is disintigrated by the cells (consumption of glucose)

During the radioactive disintigration, the Fluor atom gives off a Positron (an electron anti-particle). This positron will after a short time will met with its particle sister or electron.
See Image 1

This meeting of electron – positron creates a reaction of destruction that will provoque the emission of two photons with the same energy and given off in two directions diametrically opposite. In general, the presence of the tracer is brief (two minutes to several hours) and is inoffensive to the patient.
See Image 2

 

The cyclotron is an electromagnetic accelerator with a high frequency which allows for the production of isotopes. By accelerating the particles several effects can be seen - it allows for transmutations and the disintegration of atoms and also the incorporation of isotopes in the molecule. The cyclotron is invaluable to the production for the emitting of isotopes in positrons. In the case of 18FDG, the life span is very short (109 minutes) and necessitates that the patient is close to a PET scanner facility (less than two hours of transport).
See Image 3

PET Scanners : allow for the detection of the two photons created during the destruction of the positron. The principle of the PETSCAN is the detection by coincidence of the deux positrons. The mathematical model allows for the readings of radioactivity to be translated into : blood levels, chemical reaction speed, the density of the neurotransmitter receptors....
See Image 4

Tomographie par Emissions de Positons

 

La tomographie par émission de positons offre la possibilité de suivre la consommation et/ou la distribution de certaines molécules dans les organes humains. Pour faire cette observation, un infirmier va injecter au patient une solution spécifique contenant un radio pharmaceutique. Cet élément est la molécule (ou une réplique chimique de la molécule) dont on veut étudier la consommation et/ou la distribution que l'on a marquée avec un élément radioactif et qui présente la propriété d'émettre des particules appelées " positons ".

Ainsi, après l'injection, le patient est placé dans le champ d'une caméra à positons qui va déceler la présence de ces éléments et permettre de localiser puis quantifier la présence du radio-pharmaceutique.

Grâce à un programme mathématique, les données enregistrées vont être analysées et transformées de façon à obtenir un faisceau d'images correspondant à de multiples coupes de l'organe étudié. En faisant se succéder rapidement tous ces clichés, le médecin peut alors obtenir une image animée en 3D de l'organe observé.

 

tep 01 tep 02 tep 03 tep 04
Cliquer sur les vignettes pour les agrandir

 

Les outils nécessaires à la TEP
Le radiopharmaceutique est l'outil principal de la TEP, le plus souvent du 18 FDG (Fluoro-Déoxy-Glucose). Le 18 FDG sera désintégré par les cellules (consommation du glucose).

Lors de cette désintégration radioactive, l'atome de Fluor va émettre un Positon (anti-particule de l'électron). Ce positon après un bref parcours dans la matière rencontrera sa particule sœur : l'électron.
Voir illustration n°1

Cette rencontre électron - positon entraîne une réaction d'annihilation provoquant l'émission de deux photons, de même énergie et émis dans des directions diamétralement opposées. En règle générale, la présence du traceur dans l'organisme est brève (de deux minutes à quelques heures), il est donc inoffensif pour le sujet.
Voir illustration n°2

 

Le cyclotron est un accélérateur électromagnétique de haute fréquence qui permet de produire l'isotope. En accélérant les particules, il permet d'obtenir des transmutations et des désintégrations d'atomes et ainsi d'incorporer l'isotope dans la molécule. Le cyclotron est indispensable à la fabrication d'isotopes émetteurs de positons. Dans le cas du 18 FDG, sa demi-vie très brève (109 min) nécessite la proximité d'un cyclotron par rapport au scanner TEP (moins de deux heures de transport).
Voir illustration n°3

Les scanners TEP permettent de détecter les deux photons créés lors de l'annihilation du positon. Le principe du PETSCAN repose sur la détection en coîncidence de ces deux photons. Le modèle mathématique permet de transformer les valeurs locales de radioactivité en paramètres tels que : débit sanguin, vitesse de réaction chimique, densité des récepteurs d'un neurotransmetteur, ...
Voir illustration n°4